Find a Lawyer by Practice
Find a Lawyer by Location
This video features Rebecca K. Halberg, a Workers' Compensation attorney based in Georgia.
What is the waiting period for Workers' Compensation in Georgia?
There is an initial 21-day period in which the employer can investigate a claim from the date of disability, which is the first full day of missed work. And so during that 21-day period, the employer and insurance company have the right, or the ability to controvert or deny a case. And once that 21-day period has passed, though, they have not controverted, or in the alternative, they haven't started paying weekly benefits then they are subject to attorney's fees and penalties.
Disclaimer: This video is for informational purposes only. In some states, this video may be deemed Attorney Advertising. The choice of lawyer is an important decision that should not be based solely on advertisements.
This link leads to a site outside of AskTheLawyers™. By selecting "Accept", the link will open in a new tab.