Find a Lawyer by Practice
Find a Lawyer by Location
Back to Main Categories
What's the penalty in Georgia for texting and driving? We asked Georgia attorney Kathy McArthur in this Ask The Lawyers Quick Question.
For a first time violator, the penalty is $50, but if you appear at court and you show that you have purchased a hands-free device, then you'll be let off the hook. The penalties get more severe on a second time and a third time violation, if it's within 24 months. I guess at 24 months, maybe you go back to being a first offender, I don't know, but it's a $100 if it's the second violation, $150 if its the third violation, I don't know what if you get four in 24 months. You might need to go to jail for contempt at that point, I don't know, that's not in the statute.
Disclaimer: This video is for informational purposes only. In some states, this video may be deemed Attorney Advertising. The choice of lawyer is an important decision that should not be based solely on advertisements.
This link leads to a site outside of AskTheLawyers™. By selecting "Accept", the link will open in a new tab.