Find a Lawyer by Practice
Find a Lawyer by Location
Back to Main Categories
Written by AskTheLawyers.com™
Red light running accidents are not only common, but serious. Do your due diligence in exchanging information and seeking the assistance of an attorney—whether you’re at fault or not—as it may make the difference in the case of a lawsuit. The fact is there are many laws in Texas related to traffic for stop signs and stop lights, so it’s crucial to know what to expect.
It is a traffic violation, also harming that motorist’s driving record—which could also make it that much easier for a license to be suspended or revoked. Make it a point to follow these specific laws:
No rolling stops, and always come to stop before entering a crosswalk. It’s key that drivers understand that stop signs and signals, solid or flashing, are communication measures to stop completely either at a clearly marked line or simply before entering an intersection. Many drivers don’t even consider that a simple case of stopping completely could be null and void if you just happened to stop past an established line. The law is very particular about the details.
Always consider that if you’re making a right turn, you can do so at a red light provided it’s clear and safe to do so. However, there must be no sign anywhere in line of sight actually restricting that rule. NO TURN ON RED is typically what you would see, which tells you as a driver that you’re going to have to wait for the green.
However, many may not know this, but in Texas you are permitted to also turn left at a red light provided there are no signs prohibiting such action. However, you can only turn left at the intersection of two one-way streets, and the path must be clear and safe. Many other states won’t allow this whatsoever; yet Texas differs in this case.
Believe it or not, that yellow light in some states not only means slow down, but don’t enter. Cross an intersection as the light turns yellow, and you might find yourself pulled over for a ticket as its illegal to enter an intersection with a yellow light. However, in Texas, that solid yellow light simply is a warning letting you know that the stop light will be turning red. You can enter the intersection while it’s yellow. Just make sure you do before it turns red.
In Texas, many intersections are equipped with these sensors designed to photograph cars running red lights. You won’t find this in many other states. However, by law drivers should be able to see signs with those cameras to inform drivers of those cameras that are in place. If you run a red light, and the camera takes a picture of your vehicle, typically the violation will be mailed to the registered owner, which includes the date, time and location of the violation. It is a civil offense with a max penalty of $75.
They do vary depending on the circumstance. Expect fines to range anywhere between $150 to $275, and any red light conviction will result in two points on your driving record. Too many points, and you could also be required to pay surcharges. If you would like to remove those points from your record, you would simply need to complete a defensive driving course.
Remember that running a red light constitutes a sign of negligence. If you were injured in a car accident because someone ran a red light and crashed into you, they could be held liable for injuries, damages, and losses. Talk to an attorney to learn more about your legal options.
has been sent!