Find Atlanta Auto Accident Lawyers Near You
Every year in the United States, between five and six million car accidents will occur. Statistically, driving a vehicle is one of the most dangerous things a person can regularly do in the U.S. And yet, despite the statistics regarding the prevalence of car accidents, many people only consider that they may one day be in an accident when purchasing or renewing a car insurance policy. Because of this, many people have only a passing familiarity with state laws, insurance policies and procedures. So, when an accident happens, the person involved may find themselves struggling to learn his or her rights in time to enforce them. That is why our car accident attorneys are here – to help guide you through the complex field of automobile accident claims.
Below, local Atlanta attorneys offer information about car insurance, state laws and what to do after an accident. If you have questions or need assistance with a claim today, then contact us to set up a free consultation with a lawyer in your area.
How Do I File a Car Accident Claim in Atlanta?
After a car accident, you will want to file an insurance claim to help you recover the cost of expenses related to the accident, such as medical costs and damage to your vehicle. Depending on fault in the accident, you will want to file a claim with either your provider or the provider of the at-fault driver. Unfortunately, the process of recovering the costs that you are entitled to can be a minefield of loopholes, misinformation and unforeseen challenges. Therefore, to protect your right to compensation, you should follow these steps after a crash.
Immediately after a car crash, if you are able, you should:
- Call emergency services as well as the police. Your first concern should be getting medical help for anyone who has suffered injury. Additionally, a police report can be valuable evidence for your injury claim.
- Get information from the other driver and any witnesses. Write down the names and contact information plus the other driver’s insurance information and license plate number.
- Take photos. Use your phone to take pictures of the scene, your car, any other vehicles as well as your injuries. Photographic evidence is one of the most useful tools you have in proving your injury claim.
Then, as soon as you can, you should also:
- Contact your insurance provider. Most insurance policies require the holder to notify the provider of any accidents as soon as you are able to. However, when speaking to your provider, DO NOT say anything beyond the basic facts of the accident. If your provider asks if you are making an injury claim, do not say no, even if you do not believe you have been injured. Some injuries may take some time to appear. Instead, say that you are seeking medical attention and you will provide more information at a later time.
- Speak to a car accident attorney. Atlanta car accident attorneys offer free consultations for car accident victims. You have nothing to lose by speaking to an attorney about your accident.
- Maintain all records of your medical treatments or injuries.
What Are the Car Insurance Requirements in Atlanta?
In the state of Georgia, drivers are required to have a minimum amount of car insurance coverage, like most other states. The minimum insurance requirements in Georgia are:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability per person. This means that each person, other than the policy holder, can receive up to $25,000 in compensation for injuries.
- $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident. Regardless of the injury coverage limits per person, the insurer will only pay $50,000 total for all injuries related to a single accident.
- $25,000 property damage liability coverage. This applies to the damage to vehicles other than the policy holder’s car.
- $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage. If you have this coverage the at-fault driver in a car accident has no insurance, despite state laws, then you can file a UM/UIM claim with your own provider. Additionally, if your expenses exceed the limits of the at-fault driver’s insurance policy, then this policy can help make up the difference.
When it comes to fault, Georgia is a traditional tort insurance state. What this means is that drivers are liable for damages resulting from accidents the drivers cause. After a crash, the not-at-fault party files a claim with the at-fault party’s insurance company. This also means that drivers must be able to prove the fault of the other driver in order to recover damages.
What Is Comparative Negligence and How Will It Affect My Atlanta Car Accident Claim?
Georgia has pure comparative negligence laws that affect how much a car accident victim can claim in damages. What this means is that all parties involved in an accident will be assigned a percentage of fault. This is usually assigned by the insurance providers after a claim is made. If the victim disagrees with the insurance company’s assessment, the case may go to court, where a judge and/or jury will provide a ruling on fault.
This percentage of fault will be applied to potential damages. Some states use a modified comparative fault system where recovery is subtracted from damages based on percentage of fault. However, unlike a modified comparative fault system, pure comparative fault laws allow a person to proceed with a car accident claim regardless of percentage of responsibility.
Dangerous Intersections in Atlanta
The following intersections have proven to be some of the most dangerous in the city:
- Memorial Drive and North Hairston Road
- East Park Place and Stone Mountain Highway
- Covington Highway and Panola Road
- Cobb Place Blvd and Earnest Barrett Pkwy
- Jimmy Carter Blvd and Peachtree Industrial Blvd
- Bolton Road and Marietta Road
- Collier Road and Peachtree Road
- 14th Street and Peachtree Road
- Delmar Ave. and Delmoor Court
- Howell Mill Road and Chattahoochee Road
- North Druid Hills Road and Briarcliff Road
- Piedmont Road and Peachtree Road
- Habersham Road and West Paces Ferry Road
- Need Help with a Car Accident Claim? Ask the Lawyers!
If you have questions or concerns about insurance or negligence laws, then do not hesitate to ask the lawyers. Otherwise, to find an attorney in your area, consult our local listings.