Arizona Motorcycle Laws All Riders Need to Know
Written by AskTheLawyers.com™ on behalf of Montana Thompson with Phillips Law Group.
Written by AskTheLawyers.com™ on behalf of Montana Thompson, a Personal Injury attorney based in Utah.
Every state takes a slightly different approach in regard to motorcycle laws. Across the board, most states have some sort of helmet requirement that could vary based on age, and typically requires that the helmet be approved by the DOT (Department of Transportation). Understanding these requirements and certain laws which may be unique to your state is a good way to protect yourself in the event of a collision or legal case.
Failing to follow motorcycle laws for the state you live in or are traveling through on a motorcycle can have serious consequences, legally and physically. In fact, even failing to follow motorcycle safety recommendations can seriously impact your chances for recovery in the event of a motorcycle accident claim. It’s important to know what rules to follow and what to expect in the event of a motorcycle accident in your state.
Some of the most important laws regarding motorcycles in Arizona include the following:
- Anyone under the age of 18 riding a motorcycle is required to wear a protective helmet.
- Riders of all ages are required to use some sort of protective windshield, such as goggles, glasses, or transparent face shields.
- Motorcycles must have a seat, footrests, and at least one rearview mirror.
- Handlebars must be at or below the driver’s shoulder height.
- Multiple passengers are only permitted on bikes built with an extra seat designed for that purpose and properly secured to the bike.
- On state and federal land, a spark arrestor is required to prevent wildfires.
- Motorcyclists are allowed to ride two-abreast.
- Motorcyclists are entitled to have an entire lane to themselves (i.e. motor vehicles may not share a lane with a motorcyclist and vice versa)
- Motorcyclists are required to carry $10,000 minimum in property damage coverage, and $15,000 minimum in bodily injury coverage.
- Motorcyclists need to be 16 years old to obtain their motorcycle license, but may obtain a limited permit at 15-and-a-half years old.
- All motorcyclists must pass a general knowledge test, riding test, and vision test to get their license.
Failing to follow state motorcycle laws and safety recommendations could hurt your case.
It’s important to keep in mind the way your riding choices can affect your chances for recovery in the event of an accident. Unfortunately, it’s not uncommon to take a motorcycle accident claim to court only to find that the jury is already biased against the motorcyclist. Some jurors might be predisposed to think that bikers are reckless individuals who little regard for the rules; while this is far from the truth in many cases, it can result in an injured biker losing out on compensation they needed to pay for their damages.
Compounding this challenge is the fact that car-on-motorcycle accidents tend to put the motorcyclist at higher risk of catastrophic injuries. The damages a motorcyclist sustains in any accident may include extensive medical bills, lost wages, and even ongoing life care expenses in addition to pain and suffering. A good way to guard against these challenges is to reach out to an experienced motorcycle accident attorney who knows what to expect from a biased jury. These attorneys understand the physical, financial, and emotional challenges involved in motorcycle accidents, so most of them offer free consultations and even work on a contingency fee basis, which means they only get paid if they win the case.
To learn more about motorcycle laws in Arizona, or for help investigating a claim, reach out to a motorcycle accident lawyer in your area.