Find a Lawyer by Practice
Find a Lawyer by Location
Back to Main Categories
Written by AskTheLawyers.com™
Five to six million car accidents occur every year across the United States. Still, despite these numbers, most people rarely consider the possibility that they might be in a wreck. In fact, the most you think about potential car crashes may be when you are buying car insurance or renewing your policy. Even then, many people only consider their state’s minimum insurance requirements. So, when an accident does happen, most people do not have a thorough understanding of state laws, insurance policies or what procedures to follow. Thus, you may find yourself struggling to learn your rights in time to enforce them. Fortunately, you do not have to become an expert on injury claims to successfully file one – you can simply ask the lawyers.
Below, local Georgia attorneys offer information about car insurance, state laws and what to do after a crash. If you have questions or need assistance with a claim today, then contact us to set up a free consultation with a lawyer in your area.
After a crash, you can usually file an insurance claim, either with the at-fault driver’s provider or your own, to recover the cost of your accident-related expenses. However, the insurance industry is profit-based, and filing a claim can be a minefield of loopholes, misinformation and unforeseen challenges. Therefore, to protect your right to compensation, you should take certain steps after a crash.
Immediately after a car accident, if you are able, you should::
Then, as soon as you can, you should also:
Like most states, Georgia has mandatory car insurance laws which make it illegal to drive without a minimum amount of coverage. Every state sets its own rules for what qualifies as “minimum” insurance, including the type of coverage you need and the policy limits. In Georgia, the minimum insurance requirements are:
Additionally, Georgia does not maintain no-fault laws; instead, it is a traditional tort insurance state. This means that drivers are responsible for paying for the accidents that they cause, and that after a crash, a not-at-fault party will file a claim with the at-fault party’s liability insurance for damages. It also means that drivers who want to recover compensation must prove the fault of the other driver.
Thirteen states, including Georgia, have pure comparative negligence laws, which affect the amount of compensation you can claim for an injury claim. According to this system, each person involved in a car crash is assigned a percentage of fault. Typically, the insurance company will investigate when you file an initial claim and calculate the degree of fault. If you disagree with this determination or cannot reach a settlement with the insurer, then your case may go to court. If so, then the judge and/or jury will rule on the degree of fault for each party.
Once determined, your percentage of fault will also impact the total amount of compensation you can recover. Modified comparative fault laws reduce your recovery by your fault percentage. This means that if you are 25 percent at-fault for an accident, then your settlement or verdict will be reduced by that much. For example, if you claim $10,000 in damages for a car crash in which you were 25 percent at fault, then you can receive a maximum of $7,500.
Unlike a modified comparative fault system, pure comparative fault laws allow you to proceed with a car accident claim regardless of your percentage of responsibility.
Need Help with a Car Accident Claim? Ask the Lawyers!
If you have questions or concerns about insurance or negligence laws, then do not hesitate to ask the lawyers. Otherwise, to find an attorney in your area, consult our local listings.
has been sent!